Stop playing with my Delirium.

Hello fleshy bipeds. Armageddon is happening – not revelation styles, but geekavation styles. For those of you from the States, Japan and any other big or culturally awesome places Armageddon is the New Zealand version of Comic Con – It’s not as big as we would like it, but it’s been building team over the years and as such the Cosplaying population is starting to make a bigger and better scene.

Starwars - big in cosplay.

Starwars – big in cosplay.

That rabbit is badass.

That rabbit is badass.

ANIME!

ANIME!

I'm not sure id they are cosplayers or just lost on the way to a gig.

I’m not sure id they are cosplayers or just lost on the way to a gig.

I have no idea why they got their photos taken.

I have no idea why they got their photos taken.

No you cannot deliver my baby.

No you cannot deliver my baby.

A tale as old as time.

A tale as old as time.

Wait a minute, he's too tall to be a Dwarf.

Wait a minute, he’s too tall to be a Dwarf.

Now I love me some Armageddon  because I’m a big fan of comics, fantasy and scifi, cool trinkets, posters and whatsits, as well as the guest panels, speakers and sneak peeks into new work. And the cosplayers. They mostly go to a lot of effort and you can really admire the work they have out in.

Some people put less effort into it than others.

Some people put less effort into it than others.

Many cosplayers dress and act as a character from video games, movies and comics – although many also dress as characters from books and tv. The Avengers are popular, because it can be awesome.

These guys are rocking it from the Philippines

These guys are rocking it from the Philippines

"Shirts make me angry, you wouldn't like me when I'm ANGRY!!!!!"

“Shirts make me angry, you wouldn’t like me when I’m ANGRY!!!!!”

One of the coolest Cosplay I have seen, is that of Delerium, one of the Endless from Neil Gaimanns most awesomest series Sandman. The cool thing about her is that there are soo many different ways you can dress that will fit the character, so we get people like this.

"Bubbles, My bubblesmybubblemybubbles"

“Bubbles, My bubblesmybubblemybubbles”

10 out of 10 for commitment.

10 out of 10 for commitment.

The fish is an intregral part of the costume.

The fish is an intregral part of the costume.

Daaawwwwwww...

Daaawwwwwww…

For those of you unfamiliar with the work, here is a little info bout the character. Delirium, known to the Greek culture as Maniae, is the youngest of the Endless, yet still older than the rest of existence. She is usually quite short, and thin, and looks no older than a fourteen-year-old human girl. One of her eyes is silver-flecked blue, and the other is green. Her hair changes style and color constantly, as do her clothes. Her shadow never reflects her shape, and is tangible, like velvet. She is said to smell of sweat, late nights, sour wine, and old leather. Her sigil in the galleries of the other Endless is a multicolored, abstract swirl. Her realm is a chaotic, constantly changing mass of colors and strange objects and shapes, and contains a sundial with the inscription “Tempus Frangit” (“time breaks,” a Latin pun on the phrase “Tempus Fugit”, “time flees”.)

These Ladies work hard, the only type of cosplay I’ve ever done is on Halloween dressed as seigfried from soul calibre with a painted cardboard arm and sword, and here they look like they just stepped out from a surreal and somewhat scary other realm. So in ending, Geekdom is cool and we should all embrace it – just imagine a world were we could all dress up awesome everyday. It would be magical.

Peace out.

My distant dinorobosaur cousin, Grimlock.

My distant dinorobosaur cousin, Grimlock.

Dinorobosaur.

Oh, also – the pony that proves the rule.

"we are taking over your internets"

“we are taking over your internets”

About dinorobosaur

I'm not *really* a dinorobosaur...
This entry was posted in Games and Entertainment, Interesting tidbits, Shows and movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

